Heart Reef

Who couldn’t help but get caught up in the promotional hype of the recent Oprah Winfrey visit!!  A bit OTT (over the top) for some … but I did think that her Australian Adventure special that aired on TV last night showed Australia’s best to the rest of the world. I couldn’t help but be proud of the beautiful images shown of Uluru, Sydney Harbor, Hamilton Island, and the Barrier Reef, to name just a few.

The most exciting part for me is when she flew in a helicopter over the Great Barrier Reef and hovered over a beautiful coral reef in the shape of a perfect heart … “Heart Reef”.  This naturally formed reef was discovered in 1975 by a Whitsunday pilot and is only 17 metres across.  I’d like to think that it’s the heart of the Great Barrier Reef itself!

When I saw the gorgeous blue water and the beautiful little heart shaped reef I decided that the Whitsundays was the perfect romantic getaway I had been looking for to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary in February.  So Hamilton Island here we come in a few weeks … I’m going to look into booking a helicopter ride over Heart Reef too … how romantic would that be!!  I wonder if I can also get Curtis Stone to whip us up a beach bbq like he did for Oprah!!!!

Leave a Reply

